On the trip, we encountered many places claimed themselves as ‘World Famous”: a World Famous Clam Chowder in Seattle, a World Famous Cave in Ontario, a World Famous restaurant in New York, and, of course, the World Famous Niagara Falls. American FallsI cannot dispute that Niagara Falls is world famous; well, at least, I had heard of it even when I was a little kid in Taiwan. However, I wondered about all those other World Famous places; was I too naive to know about the places or were they only meant to be famous for subject experts or were they props to get people to go there? I know marketing sometimes, if not lying, can stretch a truth beyond imagination. Anything for money!

We stayed at Days Inns on the US side as a change as we would like to go to Canadian side to see the night scene and would like to be within walking distance. Last time I was at Niagara Falls 15 years ago, I didn’t bring my passport but I took my chance crossing the border, neglecting the caution by a Canadian border officer that I would have a problem getting back to the United States. I was detained later at the US border for a few hours as I watched other Americans walked through without passports. The ironic part was I was in that area for a top secret project for the US government and here I was, Niagara Falls at nightbeing held because I didn’t look like an American. This time we weren’t taking any chances; we had our passports and Bryden’s birth certificate with us.

The USA side of Niagara Falls is New York Niagara Falls State Park; The Canadian side has a lot of hotels and restaurants.
The view from the American side was from the side of the American Falls. We paid to get on the observation tower so we can get a better view of the Falls (see Kadia on the right). Although we would like to get closer to the Falls, we didn’t take the Maid of Mist boat tour because of two kids. American FallsBut we went down to the docking area where we got a great view of the American Falls close-up; it was fearsome to hear the roar of the water and be splashed upon. It seemed that water was falling from the sky, from an invisible air faucet.

Niagara Falls at night
Niagara Falls actually consist of 3 different falls, American, Horseshoe and Bridal Veil Falls. The best view was from the Canadian side where all 3 Falls were in plain view. Best of all, all 3 Falls got illuminated at night. We stayed there until 10PM to watch the fantastic light show. Spot lights at Niagara Falls

I believe Niagara Falls was once the number one destination for honeymooners. Although we love waterfalls—we saw over 50 waterfalls on this trip and we often hiked over 10 miles just to see them, I failed to see Niagara Falls being so popular. Some people must have done a wonderful job of marketing it. Yes, it was gorgeous and awesome and we would love to see them again but I wouldn’t fly thousands of miles to see it. However, if we had to hike 10 miles to see it, then it might be worth it! There was a Niagara Gorge Trail; perhaps we should take it next time.

Last year, Sports Illustrated named Dwyane Wade as the sportsman of the year. Was he really the best athlete of 2006 or was he chosen so SI can make the most money of selling their magazine? I know at least a couple of athletes were better last year: Roger Federer and Tiger Woods, and perhaps many other also were more deserving. Things are never what they seem to be.